PDA

View Full Version : time zone



3hills
17-07-2015, 12:19 PM
--------------------------------------------------
Topic Transfered from old forum
--------------------------------------------------
how to set the time zone? my server is in US while the league games which i want to set is in asia. How to synchronize the time zone?

3hills
17-07-2015, 12:20 PM
--------------------------------------------------
Topic Transfered from old forum
--------------------------------------------------
Hello

To change the timezone go to Global Configuration -> Server -> Location Settings

In case, Joomla time is not the correct time, you have to create a file named php.ini inside root folder, including the following line:

date.timezone = "Continent/City"

e.g. date.timezone = "Europe/Berlin"

for more timezone take a look here

http://php.net/manual/en/timezones.php

regards

3hills
17-07-2015, 12:20 PM
--------------------------------------------------
Topic Transfered from old forum
--------------------------------------------------
i have done what you suggested but it still cannot work. The time difference between the server i hosted in which is in Los Angles, US and the time i want to set for the league games in Singapore, Asia is 16 hours. Users are still able to enter/change their predictions up to 16 hours after the match ended.

What do you suggest i should do?

3hills
17-07-2015, 12:21 PM
--------------------------------------------------
Topic Transfered from old forum
--------------------------------------------------
Hello


Can you type here the line you wrote into php.ini?

the link should be

date.timezone = "Asia/Singapore"

also you can change if the timezone is changed by creating a temporary php file
with the code

<?php
php_info();
?>

under the Date information at the default_timezone should be now Asia/singapore

3hills
17-07-2015, 12:24 PM
--------------------------------------------------
Topic Transfered from old forum
--------------------------------------------------
Yes, the line i added is date.timezone = "Asia/Singapore".

I hv checked using temporary php file and the default_timezone is still America/Los_Angeles

At Global Configuration -> Server -> Location Settings , i have also changed the time zone to Singapore but is still using America/Los_Angeles

My host is dreamhost.

3hills
17-07-2015, 12:27 PM
--------------------------------------------------
Topic Transfered from old forum
--------------------------------------------------
Another thing you can try is to add the following line at your .htaccess file (if you don't have .htaccess file on your root then you will have to create it)


SetEnv TZ Asia/Singapore

if this won't work you will have to edit the files of the component . We may add a timezone configuration to the next versions.

3hills
17-07-2015, 12:27 PM
--------------------------------------------------
Topic Transfered from old forum
--------------------------------------------------
Hello,

I have tried everything but still that timezone is making me problems. What files should be edited to make it work with different times.

Thanks

3hills
17-07-2015, 12:29 PM
--------------------------------------------------
Topic Transfered from old forum
--------------------------------------------------
so you tried to edit the php.ini file and it didn't work and then edit the .htaccess and it did not work too?You can ask your hosting provider how to change your account timezone. Also it would be great if you post here what you have tried to do and it didn't work so we can see if you have made any mistake.

3hills
17-07-2015, 12:31 PM
--------------------------------------------------
Topic Transfered from old forum
--------------------------------------------------
so you tried to edit the php.ini file and it didn't work and then edit the .htaccess and it did not work too?You can ask your hosting provider how to change your account timezone. Also it would be great if you post here what you have tried to do and it didn't work so we can see if you have made any mistake.


Yes I have tried these methods but none of them worked. I have managed to fix it temporary with adding following code:
Code:
date_default_timezone_set('Europe/London');


By editing:
Code:
components/com_multileague/models/matches.php


So actually that file is in Timezone which is useful to the website.

3hills
17-07-2015, 12:32 PM
--------------------------------------------------
Topic Transfered from old forum
--------------------------------------------------

Yes I have tried these methods but none of them worked. I have managed to fix it temporary with adding following code:
Code:
date_default_timezone_set('Europe/London');


By editing:
Code:
components/com_multileague/models/matches.php


So actually that file is in Timezone which is useful to the website.

this will work but normaly you are able to change the timezone your server works the easy way is to ask the hosting provider.